Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee

Triennial Public Meeting





Minutes of a meeting of Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee held in the Orepuki Hall, 30 Oldham Street, Orepuki on Thursday, 23 March 2017 at 5.30pm.




Deputy Mayor, Councillor Duffy

Councillor Harpur

As per attached attendance register




Group Manager, Community and Policy

Rex Capil

Committee Advisor

Alyson Hamilton

Community Partnership Leader

Simon Moran



Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee

23 March 2017



1          Welcome from Deputy Mayor, Councillor Duffy

Councillor Duffy opened the meeting and welcomed those in attendance.


Councillor Duffy advised that Southland District Council approved at its 26 October 2016 meeting the Community Development Area Subcommittees (CDA) Terms of Reference which clearly define the scope, membership, and delegations of subcommittee’s.


Councillor Duffy advised it is important to note that CDA’s are Subcommittees of Council and as a consequence of this they are part of the Council governance structure. Therefore as an elected representative Subcommittee members represent Council and are part of Council. Subcommittees are not “ratepayers associations” or Council “watchdogs” but in a positive and constructive way assist in contributing to Council delivery of quality services and activities for the betterment of the communities Council serves. 


Councillor Duffy informed Subcommittees operate as per the terms of reference and members are required to operate as per the Southland District Council Code of Conduct which all members for this triennium will receive as part of the first Subcommittee meeting and induction process for elected members


Councillor Duffy also advised that as part of the process for CDA Subcommittees and Community Boards going forward, there is a Community Leadership Plan Workshop to be held on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 at 6.00pm in the Waiau Town and Country Club where the CDA will be joined by the Riverton/Aparima and Tuatapere Community Boards and the Thornbury, Colac Bay Community Development Area Subcommittees.  There are various other Workshops to be held in other locations across Southland for the remaining Community Boards and Community Development Area Subcommittees.


All present were requested to sign the attendance register (which is appended to the minutes).


1          Apologies


Apologies were received from Mayor Tong, Steven and Sharon Calder, Neil and Helena Carstairs, Marg McCullough, Brent and Julie Watson and Phil and Sharon Cordes.


Moved B McGrath, seconded P Black and resolved that the apologies be accepted.


2          Chairperson’s Report


            Mr McGrath in his role of Chairperson for the 2013-2016 Triennium reported to the meeting on issues affecting the Township over the past three year term as follows:


§  Variation to the District Plan enabling Rural Residential Settlement Areas to be recognised within the plan for development purposes

§  Information Kiosk completed

§  Hall upgrade

§  Regrassing and Maintenance at the Memorial Gates

§  Culvert installed under Dover Street to remove ponding stormwater

§  Signage placed at Gemstone Beach to assist with safety issues

§  Appreciation to Marty Ford for arranging for the mowing the middle ground reserve between Oldham Street and the main highway with baleage being cut and sold to raise reserve funds

§  Appreciation to Glen Vile for maintaining the toilets facilities at the Hall and Monkey Island


Mr McGrath outlined projects going forward which included;


§  Representation Review

§  Beautification Plan for reserve ground between Oldham Street and Main Highway

§  Monkey Island maintenance

§  Gemstone Beach access


Mr McGrath expressed appreciation to the Members of the Subcommittee, Councillors and staff for all their support and input received during the last three years over the past triennium.


4          Public Forum


            C McCracken


            Ms McCracken queried the rules regarding the nomination of members to the subcommittee especially if six nominations are not received from within the defined area of the Orepuki Township.


            In response Councillor Duffy clarified Subcommittee’s Terms of Reference in particular the candidate and voting eligibility highlighting the criteria for candidates to stand for election.


            Jeanette Sellwood


            Mrs Sellwood felt it would be courteous of Council to write a letter of appreciation to the current members of the CDA who are no longer eligible to be nominated for the 2016-2019 triennium.


            Mrs Hamilton, Committee Advisor, advised it is standard practice for letters to be forwarded to “retiring” subcommittee Members in appreciation for all their support and input during the past triennium.


5          Election and Appointment of Scrutineers


Councillor Duffy called for nominations from the public at the meeting to be members of the Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016/2019 Triennium.








Brian McGrath

Jeanette Sellwood

Phil Sellwood

Steven Calder

Phyliss Thompson

Penny Sonnenberg

Alastair McCracken

Gayleen Rawlings

Jamie Farrell

Penny Sonnenberg

Carol Arthur

Carmel Barrett

Jeanette Sellwood

Brian McGrath

Phil Sellwood

Colin Brammer

Alastair McCracken

Phyliss Thompson

Moved C Arthur, seconded C Barrett and resolved that the nominations be closed.


            There being six nominations for the six positions an election was not required.


6          Announcements of Results and Conclusion of Meeting


Councillor Duffy advised that the successful nominees for the Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016 – 2019 term are as follows, in alphabetical order:-


Colin Brammer, Steven Calder, Alastair McCracken, Brian McGrath, Jeanette Sellwood and Penny Sonnenberg.


Moved Councillor Harpur, seconded C Arthur and resolved:

That Colin Brammer, Steven Calder, Alastair McCracken, Brian McGrath, Jeanette Sellwood and Penny Sonnenberg be elected to the Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016-2019 Triennium.



The meeting concluded at 6.05pm                CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF THE Orepuki Community Development Area Subcommittee HELD ON THURSDAY, 23 MARCH 2017.