

# Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee Triennial Public Meeting OPEN MINUTES

Minutes of a meeting of Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee held in the Garston School, 1705 Kingston Garston Hwy, Garston on Wednesday, 22 March 2017 at 7.30pm.

#### **PRESENT**

Pam Naylor Louise Wright Bernie McNabb Ian Huffadine Tom O'Brien Matt Menlove Tony Sparks Alex O'Driscoll

#### IN ATTENDANCE

Mayor Gary Tong Group Manager Rex Capil

Community & Futures

Committee Advisor Rose Knowles Community Kelly Tagg

Partnership Leader

#### 1 Welcome and Introduction

### Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee 22 March 2017



Mayor Gary Tong welcomed all present and thanked them for taking time out to participate in the local Garston Community Development Area election meeting.

He advised that Southland District Council approved at its 26 October 2016 meeting the Community Development Area Subcommittees Terms of Reference which clearly define the scope, membership, and delegations. It is important to note is that Community Development Area Subcommittees are Subcommittees of Council and as a consequence of this they are part of the Council governance structure. Therefore as an elected representative Subcommittee members represent Council and are part of Council. Subcommittees are not "ratepayers associations" or Council "watchdogs" but in a positive and constructive way assist in contributing to Council delivery of quality services and activities for the betterment of the communities Council serves. The Subcommittees operate as per the terms of reference and members are required to operate as per the Southland District Council Code of Conduct which all members for this triennium will receive as part of the first Subcommittee meeting and induction process for elected members

Mayor Tong also advised that as part of the process for the new way of working for the Community Development Area Subcommittees and Community Boards, there is a Community Leadership Plan Workshop to be held on Tuesday 4 April 2017 at 6.00pm in the Conference room at the Conference room (Farmright, Lumsden) where the Subcommittee will be joined by the Lumsden, Mossburn, and Athol Community Development Area Subcommittees. There are various other Workshops to be held in other locations across Southland for the remaining Community Boards and Community Development Area Subcommittees.

#### 2 Apologies

Apologies were received from B Abernethy and G Baker.

Moved P Naylor, seconded T O'Brien and resolved:

That the apologies be accepted.

#### 3 Chairperson's Report

The Chair gave a verbal report on activities in the Township over the past three year term. Mrs Pam Naylor highlighted the following:

- Upgrade of the Public toilets
- Traffic management issues in the Village
- Upgrade of the playground
- Village green beautification continuing project
- Tree planting at Nokomai Siding
- Around the Mountain cycle trail
- Expression of thanks to all committee members for their work and valuable time

Thanks to Council and Venture Staff for their support

## Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee 22 March 2017



#### 4 Public Forum

There were no issues raised in Public Forum.

#### 5 Election

Mayor Tong called for nominations from the public at the meeting for members of the Subcommittee for the 2016/2019 Triennium.

| Nominee          | Mover         | Seconder      |
|------------------|---------------|---------------|
|                  |               |               |
| Bonnie Abernethy | Pam Naylor    | Ian Huffadine |
| Pam Naylor       | Bernie McNabb | Tom O'Brien   |
| Tom O'Brien      | Tony Sparks   | Pam Naylor    |
| Ian Huffadine    | Pam Naylor    | Louise Wright |
| Louise Wright    | Pam Naylor    | Ian Huffadine |
| Tony Sparks      | Pam Naylor    | Bernie McNabb |
| Gordon Baker     | Tom O'Brien   | Tony Sparks   |

Moved I Huffadine, seconded P Naylor that nominations be closed

There being seven nominations for the six positions an election was necessary.

Mayor Tong called for nominations for scrutineers of the voting papers.

Moved I Huffadine, seconded P Naylor and resolved that Mayor Tong and Matt Menlove be appointed as the scrutineers.

#### 6.0 ANNOUNCEMENT OF RESULTS OF ELECTION

Mayor Tong advised that the successful nominees for the Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2017 – 2020 term are as follows, in alphabetical order:-

Bonnie Abernethy, Ian Huffadine, Pam Naylor, Tom O'Brien, Tony Sparks, Louise Wright.

Moved L Wright, seconded I Huffadine and RESOLVED THE VOTING PAPERS BE DESTROYED.

The meeting concluded at 9pm . CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF THE GARSTON

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AREA SUBCOMMITTEE HELD ON THURSDAY 22

MARCH 2017.

| <u>DATE</u> : |
|---------------|
|---------------|

## **Garston Community Development Area Subcommittee 22 March 2017**



| CHAIRPERSON: |
|--------------|
|--------------|