

# Ohai Community Development Area Subcommittee Triennial Public Meeting

# **OPEN MINUTES**

Minutes of a meeting of Ohai Community Development Area Subcommittee held in the Ohai Hall, 10 Richmond Street, Ohai on Tuesday, 14 March 2017 at 5.10pm.

### PRESENT

Mayor Tong Councillor Harpur As per attached attendance register

### IN ATTENDANCE

Group Manager, Community and Futures Committee Advisor Community Partnership Leader Rex Capil Alyson Hamilton Kelly Tagg



#### 1 Welcome from Mayor Tong

Mayor Tong opened the meeting and welcomed those in attendance.

Mayor Tong advised that Southland District Council approved at its 26 October 2016 meeting the Community Development Area Subcommittees (CDA) Terms of Reference which clearly define the scope, membership, and delegations of subcommittee's.

Mayor Tong advised it is important to note that CDA's are Subcommittees of Council and as a consequence of this they are part of the Council governance structure. Therefore as an elected representative Subcommittee members represent Council and are part of Council. Subcommittees are not "ratepayers associations" or Council "watchdogs" but in a positive and constructive way assist in contributing to Council delivery of quality services and activities for the betterment of the communities Council serves.

Mayor Tong informed Subcommittees operate as per the terms of reference and members are required to operate as per the Southland District Council Code of Conduct which all members for this triennium will receive as part of the first Subcommittee meeting and induction process for elected members

Mayor Tong also advised that as part of the process for CDA Subcommittees and Community Boards going forward, there is a Community Leadership Plan Workshop to be held on Thursday, 6 April 2017 at 6.00pm in the Southland District Council Otautau office where the CDA will be joined by the Otautau Community Board and the Nightcaps Community Development Area Subcommittee. There are various other Workshops to be held in other locations across Southland for the remaining Community Boards and Community Development Area Subcommittees.

All present were requested to sign the attendance register (which is attached to the minutes).

#### 2 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Perham and Baird, Pam Bennett and Edna Penny.

Moved B Allan, seconded A Barrett and resolved that the apologies be accepted.

#### 3 Chairperson's Report

Mr Sunde (Deputy Chair) advised that following the passing of the Chair (Mark Wishart) the subcommittee chose to leave the extra-ordinary position vacant until the ensuing triennial meeting. Mr Sunde advised that during the period of his being acting chair of the CDA his role included maintenance of the Ohai Hall and looking after the Ohai Community.

At this point Mr Sunde thanked the Members of the subcommittee, Councillors and staff for their support and input received during the last three years.



#### 4 Public Forum

At this point Mayor Tong opened the meeting for questions from the floor.

#### Bruce Allan

Mr Allan commented that the terms of reference for subcommittees should state that to be nominated on the Community Development Area Subcommittee members should reside within the township and not be absentee land owners within the township.

#### Caroline Reed

Mrs Reed sought clarification of the purpose of the Code of Conduct for members of the subcommittee having to abide too.

Mayor Tong responded that the Code acts as a guide to ensure a standard of behavour that is expected by all elected members (Councillors, Community Board and Community Development Area Subcommittees) when they are acting under Council delegations.

#### John Hogg

Mr Hogg expressed concern at the increase of the Hall rate from \$7.50 to \$15.00 which he added is effective from 1 July 2017.

Mr Hogg commented that the Hall fees need to be reduced to keep attracting people to hire the Hall.

#### 5 Election and Appointment of Scrutineers

Mayor Tong called for nominations from the public at the meeting to be members of the Ohai Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016/2019 Triennium.

Nominee	Mover	Seconder
Caroline Reed	Bruce Allan	Kerry Reed
Chris Mangion	Leslie Smith	Ralph Peard
Ivan Sunde	Betty Bulmer	Alana Barrett
Kelly Day	Ivan Sunde	Betty Bulmer
Mark Hooper	Caroline Reed	Shaun Baker
Wilfred Peard	Ivan Sunde	Leslie Smith
Alana Barrett	Caroline Reed	Mark Hooper
Martin Anderson	Chris Mangion	Bruce Allen

Moved B Bulmer, seconded B Allan and resolved that the nominations be closed.

It was noted all nominations complied with the Terms of Reference applicable to the CDA's



Mayor Tong advised that there being eight nominations for six positions therefore an election was necessary and called for nominations for two scrutineers.

Moved L Smith, seconded B Allan and resolved that Councillor Harpur and Hannah Sunde be appointed as scrutineers.

Following the counting of the votes Mayor Tong advised of a three way tie between Alana Barrett, Caroline Reed and Wilfred Peard therefore a second election was necessary.

At this point Alana Barrett and Caroline Reed advised they wished to withdraw their nominations.

Mayor Tong advised that due to Alana Barrett and Caroline Reed withdrawing their nominations there are now six people for six positions and therefore a second election was not required.

#### 6 Announcements of Results and Conclusion of Meeting

Mayor Tong advised that the successful nominees for the Ohai Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016 – 2019 term are as follows, in alphabetical order:-

Martin Anderson, Kelly Day, Mark Hooper, Christopher Mangion, Wilfred Peard and Ivan Sunde.

Moved Sue Sampson, seconded Mark Hooper and resolved:

- a) That Martin Anderson, Kelly Day, Mark Hooper, Christopher Mangion, Wilfred Peard and Ivan Sunde be elected to the Ohai Community Development Area Subcommittee for the 2016-2019 Triennium.
- b) That the voting papers be destroyed.

The meeting concluded at 5.50pm

CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF THE OHAI COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AREA SUBCOMMITTEE HELD ON TUESDAY, 14 MARCH 2017.

<u>DATE</u>:.....

CHAIRPERSON:

0





## OHAI COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AREA SUBCOMMITTEE

## ATTENDANCE REGISTER

## 14 MARCH 2017

NAME	RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS	SIGNATURE	
Jane Sunde	70 Hashings St.	Jane Sunde	
Hannah Sunde	70 Hastings St	HannahSinde	
luan Sunde	70 Hastings St	bar GSunde	
Lesley Smith	149 Birchwood Rel	Jourth	
Wif Pend	9 Donny Fois		
MARTIN ANASKON		All	
Caked	51 Bir Wood Rd	Cerkend	
Kerry Reed	51 Birchwood Rd	Kill.	
Belly Bulmer	108 Birchwood Rol	Ebelmer	
ChrisMangion	191 Birchwood Rd	lanaron.	
MAKK HOUPER	80 MEACHWOUD RG)	A	
Losert Soodwin	12 DONNINGTON ST	Joet	
SHAWW DAKER	12 KIRKLANDSI	h.Bl	
PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY			





## OHAI COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AREA SUBCOMMITTEE

## ATTENDANCE REGISTER

## 14 MARCH 2017

NAME	RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS	SIGNATURE	
Alanna Barrol	8 Hasting St	aB.	
J. Guttery	124 Milton S-T.	K	
RB Allan Garter)	22 Dovidst Ohai	RBelling.	
K-D	62 Hastings Ohai	they	
9. M MOGG	Birchwood RD.	Anns.	
Bue Samson	Wairak: Valley	Hanson	
Antie Wilder	36 Hape Rol Ohai	Ay toles	
MARLE MILLER	129 BIRCHWOOD RD OMAI	M	
CLARE MILLER	129 BIRCHWOOD &da	aleller	
PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY			